Laos - Ethnic Groups - Ikhos


Maps and provinces
of Laos


Our journey into unchanged landscapes and unspoilt countryside, with various ethnic groups still living a traditional life, leads us to Laos where time passes in rhythm with the Mekong, the "mother of waters".

Here everything is peace and serenity. Laos is landlocked between Vietnam, China, Myanmar (Burma), Thailand, and Cambodia, and is the smallest country in Southeast Asia with the lowest population.

Laos has, for a long time, been off the main tourist trails and has kept its multi-ethnic cultural identity. Thanks to these various ethnic groups, as well as its natural and architectural heritage; Laos is a country waiting to be discovered.

From Vientiane, the capital of Laos with around half a million inhabitants, through to the most remote countryside, the atmosphere is relaxed and enchanting.

It’s almost impossible not to fall under the spell of the Lao People's kindness, permanent smile and warm welcome.

Practical information on Laos

The main cities of Laos:

  • Vientiane – the capital
  • Luang Prabang
  • Savannakhet
  • Phonsavan
  • Pakse
  • Vang Vieng


Laos provinces :(map legend)

1- Phongsali
2- Luang Nam Tha
3- Bokeo
4- Udomxai
5- Luang Prabang
6- Sainyabuli
7- Vientiane Province
8- Saisombun Special Zone
9- Xieng Khuang
10- Hua Phan
11- Bolikhamsai
12- Khammuan
13- Savannakhet
14- Salavan
15- Sekong
16- Champasak
17- Attapeu